Updates ‘n’ Stuff from Emily Reese at Samesides

**IMPORTANT MEDICAL UPDATE** can be found at the end of this blog entry. Read on and Shine On.

It’s been awhile since I have published anything new on this site. It’s not because I am inactive about this topic and journey of Mixed Orientation Marriages and the Straight Spouse experience; I have been preoccupied with life happenings and have simply taken a break.

Many of you have reached out in comments or emails requesting support and answers to your questions. At times, it has taken awhile for me to respond and for that, I apologize.

As an update, I have a good reason to be seemingly absent: a year and a half ago, my colon cancer battle of eight years was turned into the label of “terminal.” Interestingly enough, I am still alive and kickin’! Chemo and radiation treatments have been successful enough to keep new growth at bay. I feel really good right now, but treatments truly tapped my life force.

During the last couple of years, I have begun some activism fighting to protect healthcare in our country, particularly protecting Medicaid. When I felt good enough to do so, I have travelled to DC to lobby and use my voice for others who cannot speak. It’s been a whirlwind!

This week, I am actually heading to DC to be a keynote speaker for a wonder national conference for straight spouse women. This conference is organized through the non-profit The Straightforward Project. The conference is called The Summit and it is in its first year. When I present, I will record it and share it here on my blog. So stay tuned!

I highly recommend the Straight Spouse Network, as usual, to receive solidarity with others in a situation like millions of us out there. I also highly recommend The Straightforward Project. Kimberly Brooks Mazella is doing some good work with us straights and bridging gaps with the LGBTQ community.

Please do continue reading, commenting, and reaching out to me through email. If I can plug you in with others who share your experience, I will do so. Check out my resources section as well for places and people and writings to turn to. I will be updating it as soon as I get back from the DC conference.

Much love to you all. I appreciate your feedback and your transparency in sharing your journey with me through email. You can also follow me on Facebook under Emily Fay Reese in Reno, Nevada. Be sure to message me there if you want.

You’re not alone!

Live Life, Love Life, Impact Others,

Emily Fay Reese

**IMPORTANT UPDATE** I wrote this back in the summer of ‘18. I had the most amazing summer. As it turns out, I needed  this important time of feeling good and being able to travel and see family and friends…one last time. I am now OFFICIALLY ON HOME HOSPICE. Three weeks ago, in September, I was faced with an inoperable tumor. I decided to forgo any palliative treatments or palliative surgeries. I am now at home with my best friend, my cousin, Devon, his husband, and my kids, preparing for the end of my life and going home. My hope is that this blog, my earlier blog, my videos, interviews and articles remain a resource for others when I am gone; I also want this to be a place where my kids can return when they need it to hear my life, thoughts, and various recordings to bring them comfort throughout their lives and grieving processes. Thank you for being a small part of this journey of mine while I had the gift of living on this earth. Live Life, Love Life, Impact Others, 💙Em

2 thoughts on “Updates ‘n’ Stuff from Emily Reese at Samesides

  1. You are so amazing. Love to you and your family. Thank you for your activism, it will ripple out and make a difference in so many lives

    1. Thank you for your kind words, Lorin. I certainly do hope that after all of these years of advocating for people in our situations, our message that healing is possible, continues to be spread. It is a very tough road, but not an impossible one to walk.

      Thanks for your encouragement.

      Live Life, Love Life, Impact Others,
      Emily Fay Reese

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.